Advertisements
Aquatic Avenue Banner Tropica Shop Banner Fishy Business Banner

Thread: Should i remove my dwarf puffer soon?

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore

Should i remove my dwarf puffer soon?

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    I got a dwarf puffer to combat my snail problem abt a week ago - Siphoning out snails got a bit too tiring. The snail population has since dwindled though i still see a couple deep in my riccia (i'll need to trim that soon).

Should i remove the puffer and house it separately? I'm beginning to see a few nipped fins and i'm worried that it would go for my malayan shrimps once it gets too hungry.

FYI, i have the following in my 2ft tank:

balloon ram
    rocket-tail pencilfish
    golden pencilfish
    white clouds
    otos
    guppies
    malayan shrimps
    ThEoDoRe

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore
    Do you have any plans to housed the guy somewhere? Please don't throw him/her away..... you should remove the puffer but juz make sure it has a new proper home..... worst case pass it to someone who has a snail problem or return it to the lfs.
    Cheers!!

Sherwin Choo
    [email protected]

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    I'm intending to house it in one of my old plastic tanks (3.5l, housed my betta sometime back) with just an airstone (no filter). My only concern would be food source - I'll be in trouble if i cant get it to adapt to freeze dried bloodworms (cant keep frozen 1s cos my mum dun like them in our fridge).
    ThEoDoRe

Feedback Score
    6 (100%)
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    Are we talking about the small green-eye puffer? I have 2 in my 4ft and I don't have any tail-nipping problem. One of the puffer only eat blood-worm (and that fellow is damn fat) and another is perpetually looking intensely at plants and driftwood, looking for snails. This latter fellow is not as fat.