Aquatic Avenue Banner Tropica Shop Banner Fishy Business Banner

Thread: Neon v Cardinal

Feedback Score

Neon v Cardinal

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    I have been keeping fresh water fish in planted tanks for almost 3 years now. One of my favourite is of course the Neon tetras. Problem is they can't last more than 6 months in my tank. Gradually they just dissappear. Neons are extremely prone to:

1. White spots
    2. Bloated stomach
    3. Scales problem
    4. Fungus infection on the forehead

Why are neons so difficult to keep? Is it because most neons are now locally bred in SEA and they lack the genetic diversity?

As for Cardinal tetras, some one told me they are hardier than neons. I presume this is due to most Cardinals are wild caught and wild caught fish generally outlast those that are bred locally.

However, if Serpae tetras are mostly locally bred, how come they last more than a year in my tank?

Perplexed.

Feedback Score
    i find that neon tetra will bully the weakest member in the grow causing it to lose colour and turn grey, backbone distort.(results seen from my 2 ft tank 1 die from the attack now the attacking another weaker neon) cardinal tetras on the other hand are more friendly towards each other.

Feedback Score
    I've kept 20 Serpae tetras for more than 6 months now. I have had only 1 or 2 casualties. Serpae tetras are by no means peaceful fish. They tend to engaged in an interesting swirling fight but with no injuries at all.

I don't see my neons to be aggresive though they do bully others. However, most neons die because of desease. I just want a show of hands of how many has managed to keep neons for a year in their tank. Mind giving some tips?

Feedback Score