Question on fertilsation

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi folks

Newbie here, read up and listed below that the plants requires:

Macro elements

carbon, oxygen, nitrogen, phosphorus, potassium, calcium, magnesium and sulpur in a relatively large amounts.

and

micro elements

iron, managnese, zinc, boron, copper and molybdenum (wat is tat?)

How do i decide if my plants are getting the necessary? What signs do i look out for - besides finding algaes blooming indicating nutrient inbalance???

What a good source of potassium in the market? wat product can u recommend?

Shd i add epsom salt like some article suggest? if so how much do i dose for a 50ltr tank?

does tat means i hv to have certain types of test kits to determine the above?

currently, i am having an outbreak of green algaes ( the bushy and stubby sort) and those black hairlike algaes on the leaves of my plants. Help !!!

thanks in advance.

info of tank

dimension : 2ft 60cm x 30cm x 30cm
    lighting : 2 x PL lights 36W Orsam
    no of hrs : 10hrs
    co2 injection : 2 bpm
    type of co2 : tank
    substrate : gravel
    bast fert : none
    thickness of gravel : 12cm
    liquid fert : Tetra Floride
    temp : unknown
    filter : ehiem ecco 2233
    medium : wool, rings
    set up : may 2002

kh : 4
    ph : 6.6 - 6.8
    rest : unknown -

bioload :

plants : red lotus, B. japonica, christmas moss, anubias barteri nana, echinodorus tenellus, hygrophila polyserma, limnophila hipurodies (turning green and poorly grown)

fishes : 1 wood shrimp, 10 malayan shrimps, 10 rummy, 10 neon, 2 pencil, 5 rainbow fish, 1 dwaft gouramis, 6 otos, 7 cories

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore
    Test your NO3 and PO4 level first, and tell us your results.

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore
    Refer to this for deficiency, but not a good judgement at times.

http://www.csd.net/~cgadd/aqua/art_plant_nutrient.htm

Feedback Score
    Images