Advertisements
Aquatic Avenue Banner Tropica Shop Banner Fishy Business Banner

Thread: Which discus strains resemble wild discus?

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Which discus strains resemble wild discus?

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi, I'm very new to discus keeping since I've only recently bought a tank large enough to accommodate them. I would like to try out farm bred discus first to get my feet wet but I prefer more naturally looking strains. So far most of the bred discus I've seen at LFS don't look anything like wild discus. are there any strains that still resemble how discus look naturally? thanks

Feedback Score
    Country
    Thailand

Re: which discus strains resemble wild discus?

the normal turquoise discus. or you can get heckel discus available at C328

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore

Hi, it will depends which strain of wilds you are interested... not many lfs sells wild discus in Singapore. The most common i have seen is heckel which moluccan mentioned. IMHO, if you are just starting to keep Discus, i think either turquoise or blue diamond will be a good start. Happy Discus keeping~

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

thanks for the replies guys I'll definitely check out the turquoise discus

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Images
    Country
    Singapore

Look at the merchants section. Stardust's shop is having a closing down sale and he has some brown discus throwbacks for sale. They look like wild browns and are bred

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Malaysia

Hi, I'm learning about Discus too as I'm planning to start keeping one. So, hope you dont mind me asking here instead of starting a new thread. Any bro/sis can help me out?
    1) Keeping with cardinals is ok, but would the temperature make them (cardinals) unhappy or die easier?
    2) Is it possible to breed Discus in planted tank with suitable temperature and Ph?

Feedback Score