Feedback Score
    Country
    Malaysia

Ikan Sepat and water conditions

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Im refering to all the questions that i read today. Im new to this aquarium fish hobby but, what i know about is local river fish they are easy to maintain. Many of my friends have them in their aquariums especially "Ikan Sepat", they have a long life span as i was told. Only thing about filling up tap water into the aquarium, it took me 3 days after normal filtration then can in let the fish in.

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Re: Need suggestions: Articles for aquarium beginners

Johnny, water conditioner such as Nutrafin Aqua Plus (Canada), could help to speed up these process but if you are able to collect water from your local river, you just might have the water hardness required hence there is no need to use Aqua Plus with Bicarbonate of Soda. If you have access to well water, it is already "filtered". Our forefathers have the most igenious way to get water source I should say. You could test the water by introducing one fish in and observe for a few days just to confirm so that the next round when you get the water, you have a rough idea whether you need to "treat" that water or not.

Back here in Singapore, the water is "soft", heavy chlorinated. So we do have to refer to the waterworks website to check the ph, how the water are being treated. We also measure the water from the tap of the ph so we know when change water, what are the rough steps we will need to take. Currently I could changed 30-40% of the water and introduce the water from the tap, "modify" the water before letting the water into the aquarium without killing any fish. Most of my fish just die of old age.

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore