Feedback Score
    Country
    United_States

RO water

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hello there! This is my first time posting on any kind of fish forum. My LFS has done a good job so far of helping me start a planted tank and I have done a LOT of reading online about various topics, but now I need some outside advice concerning RO water.

My main question is: Is it normal for the RO water from the LFS to contain KH 10 degrees and GH 11-12 degrees? Shouldn't the levels be near zero? Could something be wrong with the RO filter at the LFS? I have been adding Kent RO Right to replace minerals to the 'supposedly' 'pure' RO water. Do I need to add RO Right if there is already KH and GH present in the RO water?

Second question:
    Based on the different KH values in my 29 gal (KH 6) and 10 gal (KH 11) tank, does this mean I should continue using Kent RO Right?
    **EDIT** I just saw the the GH is higher in my tanks than the RO water, which indicates I'm raising GH unnecessarily by adding Kent RO Right. Oddly, KH is lower in the tanks but I think I read plants can lower KH....

Third question: Why is the RO water causing the high pH of 8.4 in my 10 gallon tank? The pH of RO water straight from a sealed container is 7.2-7.4 but if the water is allowed to 'age' the pH becomes 8. The pH in my 29 gallon tank is 8. I thought the RO water would cause my tanks to have a lower pH.

The tap water here is very hard (dKH 13, dGH 18 with nitrates ~5-10ppm and a pH of 8 so I decided to use RO water since it was cheap and I thought it would solve my pH and hard water problems.

(All parameters measured with API dropper kit. I just bought the KH/GH dropper kit so I'm new to understanding those test results.)

RO water from LFS:

KH 10 degrees = ~180ppm
    GH 11-12 degrees= ~200ppm
    -are these KH/GH values ok for non-treated RO water?
    pH straight from sealed jug - 7.2-7.5
    pH after sitting out for 12 hrs - 8