Feedback Score
    Country
    India

Let us talk light

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Whenever I wish to talk about light in relation to a planted tank I get pelted with terms like PAR, millimoles, Kelvin, PUR, CRI, LUX, etc. Now I am a hobbyist and not a scientist, I have been gardening from perhaps as soon as I could handle a hoe and keeping planted tanks since my 10th birthday when I received my first tank as a gift; that was nearly 50 years ago. I am not frightened by all those terms but I don’t believe that as a hobbyist, I should invest in PAR-meters, Spectrometers, LUX-meters (they all carry high prices) to choose what lights I would use for my tank; and then having chosen the lights store all those costly instruments in a safe cupboard for the rest of my life.

It is not either that those terms are irrelevant or that I do not understand those terms. All those pertain to measurement of light from the angle of its usage for different purposes. For example:-

PAR - - Photosynthesis Active (Available) Radiation. To find out PAR, light in the 400 nanometer to 700 nanometer range, is measured using a silicon photovoltaic detector in millimoles of light energy per square meter per second. This tells us the energy available at the point of measurement which can be utilised by plants for photosynthesis. As PAR measures energy and not intensity a PAR reading of a pure blue spectrum will give a higher reading than the PAR reading of a pure red spectrum of the same intensity; that is because the shorter wavelength blue light carries more energy than the longer wavelength red light. The fact is that the energy level of light decreases inversely to the wavelength.