Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

need some help

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    hi all bros, im new to planted and need some advice. just started my new planted tank 1 week ago with taiwan moss and some plants which i dunno the names. the plants are those selling at LFS for $1.50 type. my tank is a 4ft x 1.5 x 1.5. currently my light intensity is 72W consisting of pl lights. light is turn on for approx 8 hrs everyday. CO2, im using those bottle type selling at LFS which can last for abt a month. tank consist of base fert and followed by 1" of gravel(lapis sand). No liquid fert use. the problem now is, without having any fish inside, my tank is cloudy and has not clear up even after 1 week. the feeling of the water is also oily. is this problem related to leaching of fert? and how do i have to remedy this problem? pls advise... thanx

first,r u using a new filtration system with new filter medias..?
    i had the exact experience u did,worried abt fert leaching etc,the water was like so damn clody (see liao oso sianzzz type...)
    mine is a 2ft tank,it took abt 2 weeks for the cloudiness to clear...
    it shd be a norm if ur filter medias are all brand new...

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore
    yah... they are all brand new. im using a canister filter with new media but had washed before operating.

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    this is very weird, I've set up new tanks several times 1ft-3ft and the water always clear up within a day, even without fishes and only plants. I use JBL base fert under 1-inch thick gravel, and also bare ADA Aquasoil with no gravel.
    why I don't do garden hybrids and aquarium strains: natural species is a history of Nature, while hybrids are just the whims of Man.
    hexazona · crumenatum · Galleria Botanica

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    ----------------
    On 6/2/2003 1:07:17 AM