Thread: Electronic CO2

Feedback Score

Electronic CO2

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi,

I'm a newbie setting up a planted tank. I went to a LFS and they recommended me to use electronic co2 instead of the co2 tank type. They told me that it is safer to use electronic co2. Need some advice from the experienced.

Thanks!

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    How safe is safer? With the electrical one, you might risk electrocuting yourself when sticking your hands into the tank.

I tried it when i had low light fixture (< 2W/UGS, 3ft) and it didnt work, not so sure how it fare with better lightings. Some models will need a certain KH level to work. On top of this, the device collects dirt and needs to be clean periodically. Replacement of the plate is probably few months to half a year.

Why not save yourself troubles investing in a CO2 Cylinder, and which injects pure Co2 readily into your tank?
    人的一生﹐ 全靠奮斗﹐ 唯有奮斗﹐ 才能成功

I think if your is a small tank (below 2 ft) it should be ok.
    But do bear in mind, you need to replace the cartridge once it
    is used up. (depends on your setting & brand will last between 3-6 months)
    This my personnal opinion.

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore
    correct. at those prices. co2 top up is way cheaper

i have used it before ...frankly speaking not worth it cos firstly the replacement plate is not is not cheap and after putting in ur tank for a few weeks u will notice the plate will give out something that will cloud the tank hope this help

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    United_States
    It's not for a soft water tank at all.
    Also, you can only use it up to about 60 gal/227L or so.

You cannot use it on multiple tanks. Gas you can and add as many as you want for tthe cost of a Tee and a needle valve.
    Gas itself is cheaper than the blocks.