Advertisements
Aquatic Avenue Banner Tropica Shop Banner Fishy Business Banner
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 28

Thread: ADA Soil...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    48
    Feedback Score
    0

    ADA Soil...

    Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

    Advertise here

    Advertise here
    Hi,

    would like to ask the difference between the ADA aqua soil n the power sand.

    is there any diff?. hmm was told that the power sand is act as a substrate den follow by a top layer of aqua soil. is it true?

    however, some says there aqua soil can be use for planted solely.

    thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapore
    Posts
    9,210
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    371
    Country
    Singapore

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    48
    Feedback Score
    0
    how about any recommended bed fertilizer?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    48
    Feedback Score
    0
    erm..but i still don't get it.

    here's another link http://www.aquaticquotient.com/phpbb2/viewtopic.php?t=10191&forumID=3&catID=1&search=1&searchstring=&sessionID={6C35D84B-3BE2-4124-B4B5-525F29679655}

    so using aquasoil can do without base fert?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Redhill
    Posts
    2,086
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    Singapore
    aqua soil is one of those all in one substrates.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    48
    Feedback Score
    0
    so getting aquasoil itself will do the work like a fert does also?.

    thanks!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    SINGAPORE
    Posts
    100
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    Singapore
    ----------------
    On 6/8/2003 12:03:27 AM

    so getting aquasoil itself will do the work like a fert does also?.

    thanks!
    ----------------
    no think u need to get extra base fert. the aquasoil is just gravel only.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Redhill
    Posts
    2,086
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    Singapore
    you do not need anything extra with ada. maybe powersand if you want to boost it up,

    I think the definitive word is soil. look outside, do people add base fert to soil? heh.

    there are currently (that I know off) 3 types of all in one substrates (ie: that require no base fert, maybe the occasional spot fertilisation).

    seachem fluorite/fluorite red/onyx and onyx sand

    ada soil / hirose /azoo plant grower bed, taikho(?) soil, nisso volcamia type substrates.

    eco flora base.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Tampines, Singapore.
    Posts
    7,920
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    7
    Country
    Singapore
    read it here
    why I don't do garden hybrids and aquarium strains: natural species is a history of Nature, while hybrids are just the whims of Man.
    hexazona crumenatum Galleria Botanica

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Redhill
    Posts
    2,086
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    Singapore
    www.aquagoods.com

    the link above is bad probably cos you enclose the http://www.aquagoods.com in "" (its a bbcode thing)

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    28
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    1
    Country
    Singapore
    hi my previous setup many years ago was

    Powersand ( base fert)
    then lonestar ( or maybe aquasoil)

    that set up did not have any algae prob , don't know if its the powersand or???

    any way saw this method in Aquajournal vol 33 local version one of the pull outs

    Jason

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    4,088
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    Singapore
    There is no such thing as no algae with a particular base fertilizer or substrate...the key is balance...In your previous case, it might well be luck is on your side. []
    Plant Physiology by Taiz and Zeiger

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    48
    Feedback Score
    0
    so which is which? to add or not to add?.

    still couldn't figure out from all the above post.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    4,088
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    Singapore
    Not necessary...
    Plant Physiology by Taiz and Zeiger

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapore
    Posts
    883
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore
    According to the nice ah chek from the lfs besides Nature Aquarium..."No need substrate fertiziler one lar."

    Aquasoil no need base fert? Any truth in that? I am think of an african setup now with aquasoil. Some one pls advise..
    Check out Wynx' Blog
    Check out Wynx' Gallery
    When fate hands you a lemon, make lemonade.
    Dale Carnegie
    "Who cannot love Her smallest things cannot stand in front of Nature" 隆あまの 

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    48
    Feedback Score
    0
    i guess by using aquasoil itself will do the job.

    Teo's, themselve are using the aquasoil for their 3ft tank in display and the plants are doing very well.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Tampines, Singapore.
    Posts
    7,920
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    7
    Country
    Singapore
    I fixed the Aquagoods link, in conclusion you use Aquasoil OR Aquasoil Ceramic OR PowerSand OR PowerSand Special on their own, without anything else. The only non-fertiliser in the ADA line-up is the Bright Sand.

    However, when using Aquasoil or any of these, remember you still need to achieve around the same total thickness (i.e. Aquasoil replacing gravel) if you have large plants, because the plant need DEPTH in order for the root system, tuber or rhizomes to grow well.
    why I don't do garden hybrids and aquarium strains: natural species is a history of Nature, while hybrids are just the whims of Man.
    hexazona crumenatum Galleria Botanica

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Hougang
    Posts
    173
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    Singapore
    So will you guys add base fert when using ADA soil, if you are planting lotsa Echinodorus, Crinum, Lotus, etc?
    Live and let live, stop using life feeds.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    196
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    Singapore
    I m using ADA soil in my tank. I find that plants will grow faster if u put base fert as I never put and hence my plants grow slower. Even biotope also put for his plant tank. The one he used to plant his plants for sale.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Bishan
    Posts
    946
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    Singapore
    IMO, its better to have base fertilizer to go with ADA soil. If the soil has sufficient nutrients to support the plants, then there is no need for the company to develop the "iron bottom and "multi bottom" fertilizer sticks.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •