Thread: new to all this - please help

Feedback Score

new to all this - please help

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi all,

Im new to all this, I was bought an aquarium for my birthday, after wanting one for years, very excited I bought all the books, set it up properly, waited a week, put in some neons, waited another week, I lost one neon but put it down to stress of moving. Then i went out and bought a fighter fish, 3 guppys and 2 blackfin corys, really excited now my aquraium looks great, i even named all the fish, then i got up this morning and one of the guppys had died, i was a bit upset, went to work, came home and my pride and joy fighter fish had died. Im so upset, i dont know why they are diying, i feel awfull, i dont want my other fish to die too. Am i doing anything wrong? Any advice?????

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore
    The fish deaths are probably due to the New Tank Syndrome. Read up this few sites.

The Nitrogen Cycle
    Beginner FAQ: The Nitrogen Cycle, and "New Tank Syndrome"

If you need more information, just search for "New Tank Syndrome" at any search engines.

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore
    fighting fish and guppies don't mix

Feedback Score
    hahahahaa.. but i tink dat you might be rather wrong cos i haf a fighting fish (crown tail.. hehe) and it is rather quite shy.. it doesnt really attack my guppies and moreover it only hides itself in its own self-appointed home. haha..
    SEIYU SEN JIKO!!! TOP PIORITY GOES TO MOI FISHES!!!

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore
    must be the new tank syndrome.and wat abt ur filter type?and i dun recommend neon tetras for starters.they are not very hardy to new tanks.all these(and many more) are very impt.and i tink yes...fighting fish dun really bother other fishes,except their own kind.unless their territory is under threat.happy fishkeeping![]

Feedback Score
    Thanks for that.