Advertisements
Aquatic Avenue Banner Tropica Shop Banner Fishy Business Banner
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What are your Natural Interests?

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore

What are your Natural Interests?

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Not that there are unnatural interests, but I want to probe and find out if forummers here have other areas of natural pursuit besides aquatic flora and fauna. I myself enjoy a wee bit of HDB gardening (particularly plants in the aroid and ginger families), some casual birdwatching, readings on evolutionary science (Dawkins, Gould, Midgely, Lorenz etc), and the biodiversity of Southeast Asia in general.

I hope you will share your thoughts and queries on all these (non-aquaria) related nature topics.....

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore
    I do have some HDB gardening going on in my flat. Not that I am a particular pro at it but still they are doing alright. Most of my potted species are of the cactus family. Currently, I am trying to populate the marsilea crenata in pots.

Cheers
    Vincent

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    I am currently growing mostly aroids like Aglaoenemas, Money plants, Spathyphyllums, Alocasias as my unit gets very little sunlight. Also have some emmersed echinodorus and crypts, the latter grown in glass jars/containers with a plastic wrap on top to retain humidity.

Vincent, was your Marsilea obtained emmersed? I can't seem to get the submersed form to re-convert back to emmersed growth.

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore
    Hey budak.

I have 2 batches of marsilea, one emersed while the other half submersed. The emersed batch does pretty fine. The half submersed batch dies off, but I spotted new leaves sprouting this morning. Utter elation.