3 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

Ferns Keep turning Brown

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi guys, i am new to plants. Recently set up a low tech planted tank for my apistogramma.

However less than 1 month, my plants starts to turn brown.

tank size: 24inch(L) X 10inch(B)x 11inch(H)
    Gravel : Sudo sand mixed with ADA amazonia
    plant: Windolov(tied onto driftwood)- those which you see in C328
    PH: 5.6
    Nitrate: according to API test kit is Zero
    Occupant: 1 Male vejieta whom just recently Ko-ed his lover
    Light: 15 LED light (not strong)

having a second tank
    tank size: 24inch(L) X 10inch(B)x 11inch(H)Gravel: SUdo sand
    plant: Windolov(tied onto driftwood)- those which you see in C328
    PH:6.0 range
    Occupant: 5 cherry barbs and 5 rummynose
    AquaZonic 10 watts light

Can any kind soul rectify the problem i am facing?
    (My lady was teasing me that my plant have expiry date)

Lots of thanks in advance

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

Re: Ferns Keep turning Brown

By the way both tanks are running on Eden 501 filter and filled with Biohomes. the 2nd tank have addditional Seachem purigen in the filteration system

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore

Well I also have problems with my ferns browning. From your case there are likely 2 causes.

The first is that the ferns you bought may have been grow emersed (above water), therefore shed their emersed leaves when submersed.
    The second is that your nitrates are non-existent, and the lack of N in the water has stunted your ferns.

The important factor is whether your ferns are putting out new leaves that are healthy and light green. If they are, then reason 1 is the issue. If they are not, then reason 2 is more likely.

nearby Wululand..a nice place northern part of Singkapoh..
    Feedback Score
    8 (100%)
    Images
    Country
    Singapore