Advertisements
Eheim Giveaway Banner East Ocean Aquatic Banner Fishy Business Banner
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 83

Thread: New Tank

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    105
    Feedback Score
    9 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

    New Tank

    Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

    Subquaria

    Sera
    Hi All,

    I'm setting up a new 2ft planted shrimp tank adopting iwagumi landscape. Am using the following items:

    ADA Amazon soil
    ADA Power sand special
    ADA powder ready mix for 2ft tank
    ehiem ecco pro 2234 with lily pipes

    would like to check with experts here couple of question:
    1) What kind of foreground plants and background plants should i use?
    2) how long do i need to water cycle before i can add shrimps ?
    3) what kind of water parameter should i maintain?

    Apologies for the lengthy questions.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    105
    Feedback Score
    9 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

    Re: New Tank

    would like to add that i have glosso in my tank for about 2 weeks however they seem to be growing upwards instead or creeping horizontally.
    Any advice or steps that i can do to make it creep across and not grow upwards?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    12
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

    Re: New Tank

    Hi bro, I have same problem as you . Glosso growing upwards. It should be due to your lighting. Lamp sources you using?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    North/Central SG
    Posts
    4,533
    Feedback Score
    7 (100%)
    Images
    38
    Country
    Singapore
    How about your lighting type and if any co2 enrichment.
    Plants growth, lighting, fertilization are always tied together.
    Learning the hardway, not the highway.
    Photo Blog - http://impervious-endeavors.fish-aqua.com/

    AQ Algae club

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    105
    Feedback Score
    9 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

    Re: New Tank

    I'm using 2litre C02 at 1bpm and also 2ft double tube T5 white light with double switch. Is this sufficient? i also dose 1 pump of ADA brighty K and Lights daily.
    i also suspect insufficient lighting that is why the glosso is growing upwards towards the light , any advice to let it creep like carpet?
    co2 is turn on only when lighting is on

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    105
    Feedback Score
    9 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

    Re: New Tank

    I'm using Aqua Zonic 2ft light set and below is the spec:

    AQUAZONIC SUPER BRIGHT T5
    Dimension 60cm x 14cm
    Watt : 2 x 24w
    Tube colour : 1 X sun white and 1 X actinic blue
    Voltage : 220v - 240 50Hz

    is this sufficient?
    Last edited by oasis; 29th Mar 2012 at 16:00.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Telok Blangah, SGP
    Posts
    9,519
    Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    Images
    78
    Country
    Singapore

    Re: New Tank

    Quote Originally Posted by oasis View Post
    AQUAZONIC SUPER BRIGHT T5
    Dimension 150cm x 14cm
    Watt : 2 x 80w
    Tube colour : 1 X sun white and 1 X actinic blue
    150cm is 5ft. You put 5ft light set on 2ft tank?
    Secondly, you do not need actinic blue
    -Robert
    Aquascaping is a marriage between Art and Farming
    My Blog: http://aquatic-art.blogspot.com/

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    105
    Feedback Score
    9 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

    Re: New Tank

    Quote Originally Posted by Shadow View Post
    150cm is 5ft. You put 5ft light set on 2ft tank?
    Apologies its 2ft light 60cm. have amended the dimension, thanks for highlighting the error.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Telok Blangah, SGP
    Posts
    9,519
    Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    Images
    78
    Country
    Singapore

    Re: New Tank

    4x24 should be more than enough, assuming its new tube
    -Robert
    Aquascaping is a marriage between Art and Farming
    My Blog: http://aquatic-art.blogspot.com/

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    105
    Feedback Score
    9 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

    Re: New Tank

    Quote Originally Posted by Shadow View Post
    4x24 should be more than enough, assuming its new tube
    which means 2 x 24 is insufficient? Is the light source the main reason for the glosso to grow upwards? even after i trim and replant the new stem , the new stem also grow upwards.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    105
    Feedback Score
    9 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore
    Would like to check if it's better to do water cycling with or without chiller?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Punggol
    Posts
    369
    Feedback Score
    10 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

    Re: New Tank

    Do your water cycle without chiller first. At such will build the bb faster.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    105
    Feedback Score
    9 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore
    Thanks for the advice. If I am going to keep shrimps using powder bacteria like BT 9 is better or using liquid bacteria like bacterlife is better?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    105
    Feedback Score
    9 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

    Re: New Tank

    any advice?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Woodlands, Singapore
    Posts
    1,794
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    Singapore

    Re: New Tank

    oasis, just follow what Shadow advice. That will suffice for the moment. Come back when you have change the light and observe a few days.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    105
    Feedback Score
    9 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

    Re: New Tank

    Hi ALl,

    I have tested my water last night and found that my gh is 180 and kh 240 after 1 month of cycling. is this even possible for the numbers to go so high?
    I use those API 5 in 1 test strips.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Woodlands, Singapore
    Posts
    1,794
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    Singapore

    Re: New Tank

    Arrr....API test strips hor...6 months expired liao. So the reading might not be so accurate.
    My one also expired liao, I just test test and see then laugh it out. I have a separate solution based test kits.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    105
    Feedback Score
    9 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

    Re: New Tank

    Oh.... the bottle states expire 2013. I'll be getting those solution based test kits. Thanks for the info Blue Whale
    Can i check do i need to water change during tank cycling?

  19. #19
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Woodlands, Singapore
    Posts
    1,794
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    Singapore

    Re: New Tank

    Quote Originally Posted by oasis View Post
    Oh.... the bottle states expire 2013. I'll be getting those solution based test kits. Thanks for the info Blue Whale
    Can i check do i need to water change during tank cycling?
    Usually water parameters are not stable during cycling stage, just don't bother and wait. If really got nasty stuffs floating, just net them out. I still remembered how I waited 3 weeks just for a 3ft to cycle. Have to resist all temptions...sigh...

    You wanna check any bros nearby with solution based test kit to help you test it out if it really bother you? (before you rush out to buy solution base test kit since it is not expired yet) Now I am doubtful too about that test strip...6mths vs 2013. ^^" You can AQ search around...not first time test strip gives funny result and it depends on how you read it. Put in stir....wait xx seconds, remove and immediately read ph. Wait xx seconds, read gh,kh, etc. these should be the instructions right? lol.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    105
    Feedback Score
    9 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

    Re: New Tank

    Yup exactly. the instruction states put strip in water and stir twice. Take it out immediately read gh & kh then wait 30sec for nitrite and nitrate and PH.
    I thought kh and gh reading usually are single digit that's why i'm shock to see 3 digit referencing to the color coding.
    Yes the temptation is there because i have been string at an empty tank for 1month
    its like cold turkey

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •