Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

green algae

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    hi! how can i prevent green algae growing in glass tank? sorry im a newbie in fishkeeping.

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Re: green algae

Some Oto should do the job

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    Images
    Country
    Singapore

Oto does not eat green algae. There not much you can do on green spot algae, nerite snail will help. The best is scrape it during water change.
    -Robert
    Aquascaping is a marriage between Art and Farming
    My Blog: http://aquatic-art.blogspot.com/

Feedback Score
    7 (100%)
    Images
    Country
    Singapore

Oto like to eat the brown type (diatom), it will try to eat normal ones on glass but they never seem to do it fast enough.
    As shadow mention, nerite can help but they effective but slow..

i use calling cards to scarpe them off when i do WC, only when i deem GSA are too much.
    Learning the hardway, not the highway.
    Photo Blog - impervious-endeavors.blogspot.com

Semi-Active currently
    "if he cant be bothered to take the time to write his question properly, why should I take the time to answer him."

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore

Does shrimps help in algae control??

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Oh ok,will scrape them off on my next WC while looking for nerites. Thanks shadow and felix.

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

I bought this L183 pleco for it's beauty at c328 for $9. Didn't realise it help to clean my tank of GSA.

So far I need not scrap off GSA of tank as there isn't any left by morning. You can try but it cost $9 for something like 5cm in length.

Maybe the normal pleco will do but I find them ugly and will grow fast for my tank.

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Oh nice one!will look consider that pleco for sure. But can apple snails help clean too? Thanks for the pleco suggestion bro.