Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Suitable Substrate for HC

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Im very new to the fish keeping hobby and would love to get some advice here.

Ive actually set up a 15G tank but something disastrous happened.

Tank inhabitants :11Cherry Shrimps, 3Male endlers, 1Ramshorn snail, 1Nerite Snail and 4 rummy nose tetra.

There were inititally plants in the tanks however since its the school holidays i decided to rescape the entire tank by adding new plants and i believe they were all killed by the ferts the farm use on the plants. Sadly im only left with the 2 snails hence im positive its the copper poisoning. (Tank was definitely cycled )

Right now im leaving the tank as it is, for the dwarf hairgrass(creeping),stargrass,etc to grow. Im not intending on adding new inhabitants as ive decided i will do a full scale attempt on a 3-4ft tank.

I am thinking of carpeting the tank with HC and was thinking of what substrates to use. I am actually currently using ADA amazonia ll soil but ive heard that the soil has to be change every few years. That can pose to be a problem since i am thinking of using HC to carpet the foreground.

Imagine having to rip off those HC that you have worked so tirelessly in order for them to root and carpet. I don even want to think about doing that every 1-2years. Just thinking of it can be so draining. Therefore are there any other available substrate out there where replacing isnt an issue you have to face ?

HC plants prefer a soft water environment and im aware ADA AS provides that. If im using some other substrate does that mean that i have to manually lower and check the ph of the water every now and then ?

Im open to all advice and opinions so feel free to tell me your experience with HC.