Aquatic Avenue Banner Tropica Shop Banner Fishy Business Banner

Thread: Where are my shrimps?

Feedback Score

Where are my shrimps?

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    hi. i am new to this and this is also my first post. i started my small planted tank 6 months ago and recently added yamato shrimps because they are cute (and i assume helps with the algae ). all looked fine and happily swimming here and there. the very next morning, all 5 yamatos disappeared. not a sign, not a skeleton. my wife told me while she was sweeping the floor, she saw 2 "cooked" mini prawns on the floor near my aquarium. i have a cover on my rekord 60 juwel tank so i am not sure how they jumped out and why they appear orange cooked. i also dont know what happened to the other 3 yamatos. i have a mini puffer that looks like a good boy, 10 tetra cardinals, 2 pencil fishes and 2 red rose plattys. i have searched the forum for answers but cant find a conclusive answer. help me with an answer or show me where i can find out more. thanks!!

Feedback Score
    How big is the puffer compare to the shrimps. If the ratio is a tat of a difference, your puffer could be the ones chasing them around. Another point is that, if your O2 is low, which yamatos are sensitive to, they would consider taking a hike out of your tank. Anyway, adult yamatos is able to crawl under dry condition for a short distance..

Cheers

Feedback Score

Where are my shrimps?

hi, thanks for your reply. the puffer is really tiny, slightly more than 1cm and so were the shrimps. the puffer has not attacked any of the other fishes but i think i will go ahead to isolate this little fella b4 putting anymore shrimps.

Feedback Score