2 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

Type of salt

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hey all, I'm new with marine stuff and would like to ask this question as I can't seem to find any answers. Can those normal salt for freshwater aquariums be used in marine aquariums? As I bought a packet of salt from a LFS and the uncle told me it is meant for freshwater, not marine.

If possible, able to recommend me the type of salt i should buy and where to buy? Thanks!

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

Re: Type of salt

No bro, freshwater salt is for freshwater. Marine salt is for marine. Salt density and salinity for marine salt is much higher. There's lotsa brand around, ranging from cheap to the higher end ones. You will commonly come across Red Sea salt brand in most LFS, though price will range according to shops. I started off with that brand and am still using it. Price wise is not so cheap nor expensive either. Good luck!

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

Thanks for highlighting bro. I have seen Red Sea salt in LFS but seems expensive to me. Im looking to try out smaller packets and other cheaper brands first.
    Fishes calm my mind

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

Ahh I see. The small packet would usually cost less than 10bucks, and I think it should be enough for a nano tank. What tank size are you going to set up?

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

Oh I haven't seen small packets! Perhaps I should check out some marine LFS for smaller packets. I'm setting up a 28L tank.