Images
    Country
    Singapore

My 1st DSM

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    This is my first attempt to try the Tom Barr's Dry Start Method.
    I plan to do a weekly progressive update to show how it goes.

Start with a 1.5ft (30L) tank, lighting is PL 18Wx2 on timer 10 hrs/day.

Some left-over Aquatic Compost soil.

And some lapis sand (or some call it "river quartz sand" ?) to top it off.

Mix 1L of Aquatic Compost soil and equal amount of sand as the bottom layer.

Top with 1.5L of plain lapis sand. Shape a gentle slope from the back to front.

7 rocks in a row. Lets see: there is Oyaishi, Fukuishi...
    can't tell the Soeishi from the Suteishi... anyway Iwagumi is not the prime objective of this experiment.

Rocks formation after several trial-n-error. Hope this is pleasing enough

Wet the graval with aged tank water plus some extra ingredient to give some kicks. BB in a bottle about 2.5ml of it.

Let the gravel settle a little. Meanwhile go hurt for some HC !

Stay tuned....

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore

Re: My 1st DSM

My 1st DSM (continued)...

Bought back a bag of HC and a spray bottle sooner than expected.

Nice & healthy Hemianthus callitrichoides. Lucky to find this sample is growth from soil and not on wool-foam (which would be hard to remove).

Closed-up view confirmed this is from emersed-growth, and plenty of healthy roots underneath. Just the right form for DSM.

Planting in DSM is really a piece of cake !!! Able to finish within just 30min, unlike those day when planting in water, took hours and bending back...

This purple bottle is going to be their life-line for a while !!! Water is from a matured EI tank with loads of NO3/PO4 and trace.

Mark this as Day 0 and start counting.
    - plan not to cling-wrap the tank for now (given our tropical climate here), see how it goes.

Stay tuned for weekly update. No guarantee for success, learning as it progresses...