Country
    Singapore

Yet another newbie

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi everyone,

I am new to aquarium - always wanted when i was young but never had the time nor money.

I've gotten myself a dymax IQ3 initially for my son when we went to the fish farm to catch fishes .. Guppies. Now it's taken over by my wife we just love our green spotted dwarf puffer.

Also gotten a bigger tank fluval edge just for them.

I am interested to start freshwater planting, don't know where to start. Do I need CO2 etc.?. What filter to use.?.. So many questions...? May get another edge to start.

Trying to stick to fluval edge tank size, as we like mini size.

Many thanks for this great forum! i hope to learn from!

Cheers!

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

Re: Yet another newbie

green spotted puffer fish is cute but aggressive, i hope your guppies are not in the same tank as the puffers...

A general guide for filteration is having a flowrate of 8-10 times the capacity of the tank, depending on your set-up, a low tech tank with hardy plants would not need to have CO2. CO2 is important to demanding plants and accompanying this factor would be the light requirement. Getting a fan would be a good idea as plants generally prefer cooler temperature.

To start off, I would recommend getting a tank not lesser than one ft for your case as smaller tank equals swinging water parameters which can be harmful to the fishes. Get a canister filter or a hang on filter, a light and my personal favourite is T5 lighting( save energy and better penetration). Decide on the aquascape you want, this include the plants and decorates in your tank i.e driftwoods, rocks

After getting all the needed items, let your tank runs for at least a month on its own before adding livestocks into the tank. Check out on the various anti-chlorine and fertilizer products you need. SOme of the common brands are Seachem, Neutrafin.