Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Where to get NO3 and PO4?

Where to get NO3 and PO4?

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Dear all,

I'm very new at planted tank and hope you all don't mind my basic questions and cld just point me to the right direction. I tried to read as much as I can from the forum and get the idea that I shd be dosing my 4ft tank with NO3 and PO4. Can someone kindly advise me where I can get them from?

In addition, is there anything else I shd dose the tank with?

My water parameter is PH 6.5-6.8
    4ft x 1.5ft x 1.5ft
    Lighting 4x36watts PL; 2x30watts Dennerle tropical life FL
    Have dwarf hairgrass, pearl grass, and a few background plants - one which is dark long leafs like a spring onion but much darker ; another is a bulb with big green leaves like a fern. Also have some stem rossettes.

Many thanks,
    John.

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore
    Issue you should understand first is how much NO3 and PO4 to maintain, and not how much to add.

Typically, NO3 and PO4 is already available in the tank via fish food, fish waster, decomposition of organic plant material, etc. NO3 and PO4 is taken up by plants as nutrient intake. So if there is insufficient NO3 and PO4, plants are stunted. Hence, first understand how much you have before you can know how much to add. For some tanks, the rate of depletion is so low that it is not necessary to add NO3 and PO4 other than via fish food. Oh, by the way, it's the N and P that plants want, not NO3 and PO4 per se. You can add N and P using various methods, not just NO3 or PO4, though they are the most common method.

I know I'm not answering your questions directly but I think it's important for you to understand this concept first.

If you decide to add them, I would suggest Dr Mallick's range. He has potassium nitrate, potassium sulphate, potassium phosphate at reasonable prices.
    Cheers
    Boon Yong

Feedback Score
    Country