Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Water change during white spot high temperature treatment

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi! I am new to the hobby and experience a white spot outbreak in my 2.5 ft tank. I have about 10 tetras, 6 plates and 4 cardinals and a crayfish and a couple of hillstream loaches. I am treating them with a combination of high temperature and salt (read it from the sub forum). I am doing a water change tomorrow and was wondering if there is any advise anyone can give on how to do it as the new water will be much colder than the tank temperature causing the fish more stress.

Feedback Score
    6 (100%)
    Images
    Country
    Singapore

Re: Water change during white spot high temperature treatment

It shouldn't matter that much imho. Just change as per normal. Fish are hardier than we give them credit for!

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore
    What is your ambient temperature? This is how I did white spot treatment for my rasboras, I put them in a quarantine tank. The reason is to cut down the spread of the disease in the tank. After that I change 75% of the water in the quarantine tank everyday with aged tape water. And I did not add heater and any other medical in the quarantine tank as my aged tap water is at ambient temperature of 30 degree which is enough to treat white spot disease stated in other website. The white spot goes away after 3-4 days and it depends your fishes and water quality.

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

3ft Planted
    Tetras, Rummy and Celestial

My Version
    1) Sera costapur added
    - just thought i try this brand since it was talked about a few times on the web.
    2) Switch off fan
    - increase temperature to hasten parasite cycle. Cant cure the fish with the ich but you hasten its cycle, parasite goes back to water, thats where the medication will kill.
    3) Water change 30-40% weekly