Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

[Newbie] Fish keeps dying

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi, let me give a brief intro about my set-up first.

I'm a newbie to the hobby, got my first tank 7 weeks ago. The tank is 22.5cm by 14.5 cm by 18cm, OceanFree front curved tank. When I bought it, it included a 7W AquaZonic PL tube lamp with a Classica Crystal 1 (output 120L to 150L) hang on filter and some OceanFree anti-chlorine. I got a sponge to cover the inlet since I planned to keep shrimps. I bought some small artificial rocks and a windelov fern as well as some java moss.

Did the fish-in cycling with some neon tetras and 4-5 weeks later added around 10 sakura shrimps after confirming the cycle to be done. Unfortunately, 7 died the next day, and the population dwindled until there were none left the next week. Having spent so much on the sakura shrimps, I thought I would give up on the shrimps and added more neon tetras. Few of them survived, I'm left with 3 neon tetras. Few days later, bought an oto, which is still alive and well(kind of fat too). Decided since maybe I can try again, and added 6 Celestial Pearl Danios. All of them promptly died the next day. Getting frustrated, I did a large water change, and tested the water to confirm no ammonia or nitrite. Bought 6 more Celestial Pearl Danios and again, all of them died the next day. I do condition any fauna before adding to the tank for 1-2 hours by slowly adding my aquarium water to the container.

Tl;dr, 10 sakura shrimps lost, 3 neon tetras lost, 12 Celestial Pearl Danios lost. Help?
    Pics of my aquarium will be uploaded if needed.

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore

Re: [Newbie] Fish keeps dying

Probably you need to also put in liquid bacteria to jump start your tank.