Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

[newbie] white spot disease treatment

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi all, I am a newbie here (less than a month in the hobby), where I have a tank of guppies and shrimps housed together. Few days ago i spotted some whitish spots on the tail and fins of my guppy and did a research on this, and found out that it is a common disease known as ich.

i would like to know if there are any treatments that i can apply into the tank without affecting my shrimps?? do share your experiences here too.

nearby Wululand..a nice place northern part of Singkapoh..
    Feedback Score
    8 (100%)
    Images
    Country
    Singapore

Re: [newbie] white spot disease treatment

Quarantine the affected fish separately. Add in small amount of salt and those common itch medication from lfs. Should be cured within few days...

Itch is quite common for newly introduced/stressed fish.

Check out my Blog on planted tank, good for newbies ( i am lazy to retype all the info i know, so please click and read below link... i hope you don't fall asleep while reading)
    Link to my Blog

I am not PERFECT but I am LIMITED EDITION !!! BIG Tank comes with BIG Responsibility...as they makan a lot of $$....lol

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

water change, add salt , install heater if you have one. if the white spot doesn't go away, probably salt not enough, add somemore daily and stop when you see the condition is under control.
    Whatever you do, treat it in another tank, else u will kill the shrimp.

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

Do google for the amount of salt to put in and how much to add when you water change. Other than salt you can use one of Sera's product for this. I've been succesful using Sera Costapur. Be careful, use lesser dosage than what the product instructed. Just my opinion, leave it for another week even when the white spots is no longer seen.