Advertisements
Aquatic Avenue Banner Tropica Shop Banner Fishy Business Banner

Thread: Heeeeyaaahhhh...Setting up my new tank soon!!!!!

Heeeeyaaahhhh...Setting up my new tank soon!!!!!

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Ok, not only am I new here, I am also a completely idiotic newbie.....have been reading like crazy and the more I read, the more I kena concussion!!!
    So I told myself: The only way to learn is to start slow, patience (at least I know this much...) but to start NOW....

So, me went to buy meself a 5-Plan 24"(L)x12"(W)x22"(H) tank, Grade 1 coral sand and marine salt. Wat I need to get tonite is a decent skimmer and was looking at a Weipro (2012? or something..bad wif numbers) or a Via-Aqua. Any recommendations? Will also b getting LR tonite (maybe just 10kg). Shld I get the hang-on type or the floor-placement type? Me got no cabinet. Wife will hv me for dinner......
    My 'desire' is to have LR/small amt of Corals and 3-4 fishes wif 2-3 shrimps. Overcrowding? dunno leh....

Will be washing the sand tonite (do I need to use a magnet to remove any metallic stuff in the sand? I was told by some that this is impt.
    wash sand put in tank (1") and start to add pre-mixed saltwater.
    Will use hygrometer to chk salinity levels.
    Add LR. Most probably will install a small powerhead to 'circulate' the water a 3 days.
    4th day: turn on skimmer
    14th day: check ph, NH4 and NO2
    15th day: top-up water 20% , rinse filters
    30th day: check ph, NO2 (shld be 0) n measure NO3 reading
    change water 20% to maintain nitrate levels
    42nd day: check ph if ok, tank is established and can add 1 fish weekly
    60th day: add corals

Note: during the cycling period, i will not switch on lights, rite?
    So, any comments on the above? Am sure I may have left out something...
    btw, wat lightings shld i get? I was thinking of the 2x55w PL lights (Blue&White). Is that sufficient or too hot?