Country
    Singapore

Help me setup an ultra budget planted tank

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi,

I am not new to aquaria, but I am mostly a salt water guy. I do know the tank and fish basics, but I am very new to plant in general. I have been reading a lot regarding planted aquarium in the past few days, and I am attracted to the low tech low light low maintenance tank concept. I want to get my feet (or rather, hand) wet, but on a minimal budget.

Basically, I want a tank that I only have to feed the fish once a day, top off evaporated water, and do pretty much nothing else.

I think I have most of the stuffs already. The stuffs that I am going to use:

- 24"L x 18"D x 12"T custom made ADA style rimless
    - Seio M620 for in tank circulation

Fishes and shrimps

I know I want some otos for algae control, the question is, how many? For the main fishes I would like a school of neon or cardinal tetras, and may be also some zebra danios. Again, the question is how many is appropriate to achieve nutrient balance with the plants?

I like shrimps, but they seem pricy? I don't know how much they cost. Feeder shrimps are cheap, but can they be kept alive in a planted tank? Do they eat poop or algae or both?

Plants and substrate

I think this is where the majority of the cost would be. I need to cover a 24x18" base area.

I am not fussy about what plant goes in, as long as it is hardy, and cheap. It seems that I have to fill it up with enough plant mass for the method to work. My question is, how can I do this in the cheapest possible way?

Also, some plants like java ferns do not require substrate, so I can use any cheap inert substrate. But, are plants like this the cheapest thing to cover the tank with?

Filtration