Feedback Score
    Country
    United States

Fish Indentification

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    I admit it, I'm a newbie when it comes to keeping a freshwater fish and plant aquarium. I've only had the tank for approximately eight months, so I have much to learn.

That being said, I'm not very familiar with fish species. I purchased this beautiful yellow and orange guy(or gal!) about a week ago and just love him! Problem is, I don't know exactly what he is, so I want to make sure I administer the appropriate care for his type.

He tends to forage around my tank far more than my other fish, and he has these catfish-like whiskers much like my dojo and cory, so I'm curious if he's a bottom feeder, or since he's foraging on the algae, maybe his main diet is algae? He shows little interest in surface feeding flakes or freeze dried bloodworms. Occasionally, he will nibble on a little flake that has begun to fall down, but often, he'll just spit it back out. Same goes with the thawed out frozen brine shrimp I sometimes feed. I don't want to starve the poor fella!

Here are a couple photos of the handsome bugger, so maybe someone on here can help me out with identifying his species so I can research into the proper care for him.

My apologies for the blurry photos... it's not easy to photograph a swimming fish with a camera phone!

Thanks in advance!!

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1358697862.501816.jpg

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1358697933.540820.jpg

~Dana~

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

Fish Indentification

Hmm i think that is an albino form of SAE or false SAE

Feedback Score
    Country
    United States

Fish Indentification

Quote Originally Posted by jemswira View Post
    Hmm i think that is an albino form of SAE or false SAE