Advertisements
Aquatic Avenue Banner Tropica Shop Banner Fishy Business Banner

Thread: beginner 2ft planted tank. Advice needed!

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

beginner 2ft planted tank. Advice needed!

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Tank Dimensions : 2 by 1 Feet

Lighting: 2 tubes of T5

Type of Filter : Ehiem 2213

Age of setup: 3 days since set up.

changed 20% water to reduce cloudiness from filling up the tank. Used dechlorination solution for water.

Plant list
    Staurogyne Repens
    Rotala Indica
    Reineckii Mini
    Nana
    Java moss

Fishes
    None at the moment

Hi everyone. This is my first attempt at a planted tank. I'm currently facing some issues with the plants such as the repens and reineckii. As i intend for this tank to be a low tech tank, i did not use CO2. However, i got the repens and reineckii from a fellow forumer who did use co2. The plants are starting to melt away and lose their greenness. Firstly, i would like to know if it is possible for the plants in my tank to survive without Co2. Secondly, i need advise on what to do next. Should i trim the plants and just leave a short stem and let them regrow in my tank environment? Or should i let it be and continue to scoop out leaves the fall off and wait for a few more days? Or should i remove them and switch to other plants that stand a better chance without co2 if so please suggest species and where i can get them. I am fine with the plants growing slowly however i am not sure if the current situation will allow for them to grow or slowly wither away.

I also intend to use this tank a community tank for guppies and other fishes but i would want the tank parameters to stabilise before adding anything.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Feedback Score
    13 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

Re: beginner 2ft planted tank. Advice needed!