Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Unhappy fishless cycling tank

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    i am new to this and it does not seems to working.. so i am kind of stuck.
    a 30cm cube tank (i know it isnt big) hoping to house shrimps, using ada new amazonia. i didnt feed ammonia source to cycle bcos i thought that ada amazonia is releasing it (am i wrong to think this way?). so i let it runs with HOB and sponge filter, having drift wood, hornwort and moss ball. using seachem prime and stability. this was set up around 16 apr, but until now ammonia is not going below 1 (stuck at 0.5~1) and 0 nitrite, about 10 nitrate. and yes, even after water change of 50% it didnt goes down, so i dont know what to do already..

Feedback Score
    4 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

Re: fishless cycling tank

Your tank is still in the midst of cycling, so just have to wait until the beneficial bacteria colonies in your tank and filter multiply and grow large enough to handle the nitrifying process. Some tanks cycle slower, some faster... there is no fixed duration as it all depends on the setup, so you just have to be patient.

How much ADA Amazonia aquasoil did you use? If you used more soil, it will also release more ammonia for a longer period of time, so have to wait longer for it to cycle.

If you are not focusing on growing a high density of plants (which ADA Amazonia aquasoil is actually designed for) and mainly just cycling the tank to keep shrimps, then simply do more frequent large water changes to flush out the excess ammonia, that can help to reduce the ammonia content quicker and allow the beneficial bacteria to process the remaining amounts faster.