Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

A Shrimp Tank Project :D

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Greetings fellow AQ members. I'm glad to announce that I've successfully established a shrimp tank after much trial & error. I'm still new to this shrimp hobby so I appreciate if the community can kindly contribute all their experience & advice to this thread. I believe this all of us, especially potential or new shrimp hobbyists will benefit from this information

My shrimp tank is fully cycled now. I don't have the test kits to test for the water hardness. I have deployed 2 different loads of commando shrimps into the tank at different time intervals. I'm sad to say that there were many casualties, especially the weaker ones dying out first. I did adopt the drip method to acclimate the shrimps over a span of 2hrs.

Currently, I've noticed some shrimplets swimming around in my tank, but who knows whether they will live to mature? Are there any ways to promote breeding amongst my shrimps? My water quality seems to have been affected too, minuscule particles can be seen floating in the water. Shrimps are also bending themselves, *Cleaning?* their lower bodies for some reason. Most of my shrimps are hanging onto the fauna, hiding in the shadow. I've noticed some white worm like creature in the soil, maybe 2-3 of them. I've limited the feeding to once a day, putting the sink pellets in a feeding dish but the shrimps usually drag the pellets out of the dish. ==
    Can anyone advise me on what to do? Perhaps ensure there are no more casualties and to improve the water quality? Thanks!

PS: I might want have 2 filters running concurrently in the tank but not sure what to get.

Current Tank Specs:
    Length x Width x Height - 1.5ft x 1.5ft x 1.5ft
    Power Filter-120 Shiruba Model
    Light - AquaLux 13W/7200K
    Fauna: Low
    Tank Status: Fully cycled for 2-3 months
    Soil: Can't remember brand of shrimp soil