Advertise here
    My tank has some of it. Please help

I am a beginner here, my tank has pygmy cories, yamatos and cherries

Feedback Score
    4 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

Re: What eats Thread/String Algae?

Your yamato shrimps and cherry shrimps would eat those algae... its just a matter or number of shrimps vs algae growth rate. Increasing the shrimp population + reducing excess light usually helps keep those types of algae at bay.

Not overfeeding and not feeding the shrimps also makes a big difference, it encourages them to focus on eating the algae (instead of just waiting for commercial foods).
    :: Urban Aquaria ::
    www.urbanaquaria.com

Feedback Score
    -1 (50%)
    Country
    Singapore

Quote Originally Posted by Urban Aquaria View Post
    Your yamato shrimps and cherry shrimps would eat those algae... its just a matter or number of shrimps vs algae growth rate. Increasing the shrimp population + reducing excess light usually helps keep those types of algae at bay.

Not overfeeding and not feeding the shrimps also makes a big difference, it encourages them to focus on eating the algae (instead of just waiting for commercial foods).
    Thanks for the quick and informative reply. Do otos eat thread algae as well?

Also, I have just received some plants from someone on this forum that have abit of black algae on them. Hence as a precaution, I might consider getting SAEs. Do SAEs eat baby shrimplets? and what is their max length?

Feedback Score
    4 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

Quote Originally Posted by hardscape View Post
    Thanks for the quick and informative reply. Do otos eat thread algae as well?

Also, I have just received some plants from someone on this forum that have abit of black algae on them. Hence as a precaution, I might consider getting SAEs. Do SAEs eat baby shrimplets? and what is their max length?
    Otos don't eat thread algae, they only go for soft green or brown film algae.