Country
    Singapore

Help required with new tank setup

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi
    I am newbie here , always planned to buy aquarium but finally got it this time and have bigger confusion now.
    Bought a relatively small tank (acrylic) 18inch wide , 16 inch tall and 11 inch depth.

quite overwhelmingly bought following fishes : 2 goldfish , 1 black goldfish , 4 angelfish and 2 sucker fish (1 black like cat fish and another Yellow stripes).

Now the tank looks overcrowded and am i confused that did i buy the right combination and number of fishes.

I understand that there are knowledgeable members who can guide me further.

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Images
    Country
    Singapore

Re: Help required with new tank setup

hi,

welcome to the hobby...

First of all, goldfish and angelfish will grow big, so you should think of how to take care of them in future.
    Depends on what suckers you get, they might attack your angelfish and goldfish. I have a normal sucker that killed few of my adult angelfish before.
    Now, come to goldfish and angelfish, anglefish might nibble on goldfish tail.

goldfish bioload is quite high so be prepared to do more frequent water change.
    Did you install any filter?

the other 2 fish you mentioned, might cause harm to goldfish.. do take note of that. if possible, bring to the shop and ask if you can change for other types of fish.

maybe you can take a picture and show us what you've got.

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Hi There

Thank you for a prompt reply..As mentioned i am a complete beginner here. Until about 2 weeks ago i had no clue about fishes and aquarium.

To answer your question :

I am not planning to upgrade to a bigger tank in near future so i have to adapt to fishes that can stay in current size.( I am ok if i have to return them and get new ones as they are just 1 week old except sucker fish which are just 1 day).