Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Plant issues (newbie)

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi I'm new to this hobby, but have been enjoying myself thus far!

I have some concern with my tank as of now, since I have plants not growing well.

Tank specifications
    4x1ftx15inch(h)
    142 litre

Lighting
    Beamworks Hi lumen 120

Pump
    Jebao 303(got it from a friend, with media)
    Flow rate 1200l/h

Pressurized CO2
    Measured with drop checker

ADA Amazonia soil

Fan cooled, temperature around 26-29celcius

Water parameters
    Ammonia: 0ppm
    Nitrite: 0ppm
    Nitrate: 20ppm
    (Tank cycled for two weeks)
    Gh: 6 (forgot the units)
    Kh: 3
    pH: 7-7.5

Plants introduced are,
    1. Hair grass
    2. HC
    3. Tonina sp belem (from my friend)
    4. Cheap 1 dollar plants (don't really know their names)
    5. Anchor moss

I dose the prescribed amount of Seachem Flourish to the tank.

So my questions are,
    1. My HC aren't growing. I did not use the DSM because I only learnt about it recently, and planted in sizes of 4-5 stalks. Some are growing, some are melting, and it is inconsistent. Should I introduce macro nutrients? I was told ADA soil would have sufficient.

2. My Tonina has a tendency to develop new crown which becomes smaller( making it resemble a pineapple crown.) what am I doing wrong? My friend said it is a difficult plant, but unsure of what is wrong in my tank.

3. My other plants, including hair grass, have been growing like weed. In fact I have trimmed the hair grass, removed shoots, and uprooted a big part of the cheap plants as they were over growing. It makes me question if these cheap plants are sapping away the nutrients.

Would appreciate if someone of experience here can tell me what I'm doing wrong. Have been studying and researching for months before I started, but still feels inadequate. I guess I still have lots to learn!