Thread: Newbie

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi all. I am a newbie in planted tank. Intend to setup a simple 2 ft tank. Is under gravel filter advisable? Thanks advance for all the expert advise.

Feedback Score
    4 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

Re: Newbie

If you are utilizing larger grain soil or gravel substrates (not fine sand) and adding non-rooted plants, like those tied to wood or rocks... then an under gravel filter/UGF system can be used.

However its not recommended if you plan to add rooted plants into the tank (especially those plants with extensive root structures), as over time the plant roots will grow into the UGF system and clog it up, then you will need to remove the entire substrate and UGF to unclog it, that will pretty much be a complete overhaul of the tank. Thats one of the reasons why UGF systems are not as popular for planted tank setups.
    :: Urban Aquaria ::
    www.urbanaquaria.com

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

thanks. So what is the recommended filter? I plan for simple setup and have some plant that don't required CO2.

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

By the way what is this type of plant? Intend to have similar setup
    Attached Images Attached Images

Feedback Score
    4 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

It'll be best to use a canister filter, something with a flow rate of around 600-700 l/ph... perhaps an Eheim Classic 2215 (620 l/ph), or Professional 2224 (700 l/ph), or Ecco Pro 300 (750 l/ph). Any of those models will filter a 2ft planted tank well and generate sufficient flow and circulation for the plants.

The carpet plant in your posted photo looks like Micranthemum 'Monte Carlo' (aka MC). You can read up more on the plant in this link: http://tropica.com/en/plants/plantde...8025TC%29/4442
    www.urbanaquaria.com

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore