Advertisements
Aquatic Avenue Banner Tropica Shop Banner Fishy Business Banner

Thread: Aquatic plants not growing some even degraded.

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Unhappy Aquatic plants not growing some even degraded.

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi all i'm facing problem in growing my aquatic plants, every 3 days i will add 3 co2 tablets and add in liquid fertilizer. Sadly the only thing that i see are the growth of algae and plant breaking apart. Therefor any old bird can help me?

My Setup

2feet tank
    Flourite base
    root fertilizer
    8 plants
    2 cornered filter
    55w light

here are some of the pictures of my tank

Algae

Plant dying

Thanks in advance.
    I'm A Newbie Pls Don't Flame Me

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Re: Aquatic plants not growing some even degraded.

There could be a lot of reasons as to why plants are dying. pH, carbonate hardness or simply the plant not being an aquatic plant. Different types of plants also varies in difficulties to adapt to individual aquarium. From the picture of the aquatic plant you show as dying, it looks like a variant of toninia which requires soft water and low pH. If your water is heavily mineralised, it may not be able to adapt. The red plant in the foreground looks like alternatera sessilis, which is not truly aquatic. It may live for a few weeks submerged in water looking ok but it may just suddenly crash and die at the point where the threshold is crossed.