Country
    Singapore

Main Tank leaked, rescue attempt to Ikea container, situation grim

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Gonna be a long post, relative newbie here. Please bear with me

As I posted on another thread, my main tank leaked on 15th September... Main tank was an established 3ft X 1.5ft X 1.5ft community tank.
    Had a total of 10 fishes and a pleco in it.

Fishes were :
    1) 2 small blood parrots
    2) 3 balloon belly mollies
    3) 2 Swordtails
    4) 3 loaches
    5) 1 Pleco
    6) Small live Plants X 4

This 3ft tank was fully cycled and was running with an E-jet Canister filter rated 2000l/h. Last water readings with API testkit was Ammonia 0ppm, Nitrites 0ppm, Nitrates 40ppm, PH 7.4 to 7.6.

When the leak was detected, I put them another tank and ran to Ikea and got 2 SAMLA transperent storage containers of 45liters volume. Dimensions 56cmx39cmx28cm cm/45ltrs

http://www.ikea.com/sg/en/catalog/products/70180941/

Let us call these containers T0 and T1 respectively.

I equally divided the substrate and driftwood/decorations,plants between the two containers and also divided the fishes. I put 7 fishes in the container T0 with pre-established canister filter(let us call it F0) and 4 fishes in the other tank T1. I setup T1 with 1 brand new submersible pump with an internal corner filter and another new submersible filter with 600l/h.

I also opened the pre-established canister F0 and took some of the filter media and put it in the internal filter of T1 to seed and started both T0 and T1.

T0 with pre-established filter(F0) stayed 0 ammonia, 0 nitrite and 30 Nitrates 3 days after this.

But my other container T1 with only 4 fishes(3 mollies and 1 pleco) started showing ammonia. 3rd day Ammonia was already more than 1ppm. So I went and got Ammolock. But ammonia kept on climbing. I did 50% water change also no avail.