Country
    Singapore

To heat or to cool.....?

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi,
    I'm a newbie in planted tanks. Read up a few articles but come out more confused. Hopefully someone can answer my queries below.

1. If base heater is not necessary in our tropical climate, how then can we treat "cold feet" in deep rooted plants?

2. Assuming a 50w tube heater is added beneath the fert and substrate layers, when and how long do we need to switch it on to release nutrients and aid in plants with "cold feet"?

3. With heater, does it not contradict with the need to cool the water to maintain temperature between 24degC - 28degC?

4. Has anyone tried using those cooler gels (those use in cooler box) to cool down the water temperature as an alternative to expensive chillers and noisey fans?

Thanks all in advance for any inputs on the above.

Regards,

Wiz
    THINKING OF GOING TO THE THE DARK SIDE........the non CO2 way!

Feedback Score
    6 (100%)
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    Hello wiz,

1. Most articles around the net are usually written with Westerners in mind, thus they reccomend heaters, substrate heating coils, etc. I've never heard about "cold feet" though, where did you read it from? In our climate, no heaters are necessary. what the fish shops are doing is really unnecessary.

2. Ditto for the above.

3. Exactly. Over in Singapore, we talk about cooling, not heating

4. Those cooler gels need "recharging" in the freezer if I'm not wrong. It's mainly the hassle involved. Some even use frozen bottles of water and float them around in the tank. But, unless you're at home all day long and can bother to actually freeze and refreeze stuff...

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore
    Squee,