Country
    Singapore

Definitely starting up a new tank...pls help

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Gents,
    This site has been a real great resource for me.Just can't wait to start setting up..maybe by end this week?..

I'm planning to set up a planted tank.I'm new at these.Based on info from this site,here are what I think I require...pls give corrections and suggestions pls..

Tank - 3ft...(will buy new with cabinet,6mm glass)
    Filter - already have a EHEIM 2228 but I guess its too powerful for a 3ft tank.
    Anyone wanna trade..or selling their EHEIM 2026?
    Lights - PL electronic ballast ?? what wattage should I use?
    CO2 - 2 litr. with solenoid(anyone selling used)
    Base fertilizer - dennerle or JBJ and how many packs for my tank?
    Substrate - planning to get the ADA Africana soil...2 packs enough?

Pls help..can't wait to get started...thanks guys..

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    Hi Hanzz,
    Firstly a very warm welcome, always nice to have a new brethen. Btw, I think your 2228 is too much for your 3 footer. Lights for FL, I think 4 x 25W is enough. If you are using ADA soil, I think can skip the base fert. JBJ is okay, Dennerle dupontmix is 'ex' bro. But the fun of it is trying new stuffs as long as it doesnt burn a hole in your pocket. You might want to add a fan to your list, if you are keen on moss. As for trades and stuff, just drop in the market and trade section, there's alot of 2nd hand Co2 set for sales weekly. You just have to be fast.
    Enjoy.
    Something about the water & the fishes that calms me down.

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore
    1)3x?x? ft?
    2)Filter- Maybe you can split the output into 2 to lessen the flow? Save some cash. If it is too strong, then you need to get another filter.
    3)Light-PL 4x36w or you can try the new T5 bulbs. Comes in 39w for a 3ft tube.