Country
    Singapore

Aquatic vs Marine

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi folks,

I'm a newbie keen to start either aquatic or marine setup. Any comments?

I'm basically going for minimum maintenance...

Any reliable and reasonable shop to recommend to source for stuff?

Thanks
    Larry

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore
    i think aquatic is better... all u need is a hardy fish, tank, filter and air pump( not really needed)... whether low maintence depends on the fish... what kind of fish u hope to keep..

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    for newbies, I think a better route is to planted first. Marine has really alot to pick up. Might over kill and kill off the interest totally.
    Cheers,
    Andrew

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    Quote Originally Posted by larry
    ... either aquatic or marine setup...
    Should be rephrased as freshwater or marine -- both are aquatic setups ...

Personally, I find that there will be more fellow forumers here to ask for help if you go for freshwater setup.
    koah fong
    Juggler's tanks

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    Thanks all...

I've not decided what fish to keep... I used to rear some ranchus and had difficulties in maintaining the water quality.

So is it better to diy the setup or get someone to do it? I have a box filter and a canister filter for my 2 and half feet tank. What would be a good estimate of the startup cost for plants, gravel and fishes? I'm not planning anything fancy at this moment.

Thanks again

Regards
    Larry

Feedback Score
    6 (100%)
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    IMHO It's better to start off buying stuff instead of DIY-ing unless of course you're very confident.

Estimated startup? About 500 bucks should get you the best stuff I guess. If you want to save, $300 can get you by.

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore