Images
    Country
    Singapore
    Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi guys,

I'm a newbie... just bought a driftwood. Was told by the shopkeeper to soak the wood in the tank for a few days for the brownish colour to clear. It's been 2 days since I soak it and the water looks clearer now. But the driftwood is still floating... will it sink or do i need to tie to some weight???

What would be the best time to introduce plants to the tank. I've laid fertiliser and gravel.

Many thanks

Cheers
    Larry

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    It will sink... Depending on size, it may take a few days to a couple of months...

I would start planting the areas where the wood would not be placed and then plant the rest after the wood sank and is in place.
    Read me! :bigsmile: http://justikanz.blogspot.com/

I'm crypt collecting... Starting cheap, now have Cryptocoryne beckettii, C.beckettii var petchii, C.crispatula var.balansae, C.griffithii(Melted! ), C.nurii, C.parva, C.pygmaea(Melted! ), C.tonkinensis(Melted! ), C.walkeri, C.wendtii 'Brown', C.wendtii 'Green', C.wendtii 'Green Gecko', C.wendtii 'Tropica' and Cryptocoryne x willisii

Oh, juggling is hard work, man!...

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    Depending on the type of wood, some take months to sink. Show us a picture. If it's the snake like type of root (rather than wood), then you have to weight it down.

Also, the wood may tint your water for a long time due to the humic acid it releases.

Cheers,
    I have dwarf cichlids in my tanks! Do you?

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore
    soaking the wood in boiling water helps to fasten the process!

Feedback Score
    4 (100%)
    Images
    Country
    Japan