Images
    Country
    Malaysia

Red face Need reassurance

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi. I'm new to planted aquariums. And no matter how much I read up on the topic, I still need some re-assuring. I'm into the end of the 1st week of my new setup. I noticed that my plants are no thriving (in fact, some are starting to turn yellow) and the water is still a little cloudy and brownish. Is this normal? Do I have to be patient for things to clear up? And is it time to clean my filter elements? Appreciate some words of wisdom from veterans.

Info:
    2' tank
    overhang filter
    FL
    Some moss, ferns, nanas, tellenus
    No fish or prawns yet
    Water change (1/3) every alternate day
    DIY CO2

Feedback Score
    6 (100%)
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    It's just the first week, relax.

1) Your water should be clearing up soon. It'll turn clear overnight one day, it's always a big surprise. I used old filter media and bacteria seeded from another tank, so my process is much faster. If yours is brand new, then most likely you have to wait for about 2 more weeks or less.

2) The plants will need time to adjust. Which are the plants that are turning yellow?

3) Don't touch the filter yet. In fact I'd suggest you go out and get some source of bacteria or even those commerical products that help to cycle a tank fast.

4) Reduce your frequency of water changes. Once a week is often enough for planted tanks.

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Malaysia
    Thanks for your advice. Good to be able to draw from your experience instead of fish shop owners whom I think is mostly profit motivated.

The plants that are turning yellow are mostly nanas and tenellus.

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore