Country
    Singapore

Help on tank setup

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi
    I am a newbie to fish keeping & aquascaping. After much persuasion my financial controller had finally agreed.

I had been thinkin of the following setup

Tank Dimensions: 2 or 3 ft.
    Filter : canister. Thinking of Eheim. Model??
    Type of CO2 (DIY/Cylinder) : Cyclinder
    Method of Injection (e.g. Diffusor/Reactor) : ???
    Substrate : Seachem onyx

Kindly advice.

Thank u in advance.

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    Read up on the stickies, they'll be useful

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    I guess your choices will be limited to how much room your "financial controller" allows you!
    Welcome to AQ! You will find most of the answers in past posts. But the main thing is don't rush yourself and read up more before you commit. Cheers!
    Click here to help me make my Fish Room Project a reality!

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    Welcome to AQ!

A few considerations/queries...

Are you considering a tank and stand set up or a cabinet with hood? There are a variety of options for both.

Are you going for a simple low light set up or going to experiment with all sorts of plants? This will determine the type of lightset you need, be it FL, PL, MH, etc.

With CO2 fertilisation, especially from a pressurised cylinder, it will be much more managable. And you can decide between internal or external CO2 reactor and can also choose between a reactor or a diffusor.

As for filtration, there are a variety of options. If you prefer Eheim, then there are several models to choose from, including the Ecco series (with a lower flow rate) and the usual Classic (2215) and the Professional series (Pro II 2026) etc. There are also a lot of other Asian brands around for a fraction of the cost to help you keep to a budget that your financial controller will be happy with.