Country
    Singapore

Assistance required - Tank Pic provided

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Attachment 3265

Hi all, I'm really new to this planted tank business... I hope to achieve a "zen" garden kinda tank, to watch shrimps and fishes and relax... so far i did the major mistake of putting in fishes and shrimps before the tank cycle (its one week old)... thus resulting in heavy casualties...

Please give me comments as to how to adjust the plants, what plants to buy... Do help ID the plants too...

Thanks!!

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore
    How big is your tank and what hardware are you using? More infor please
    It's not just "Step1: Add Water, Step2: Add Fish" If everything else don't work, add plastic plants and fish

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    its a 3 feet... i am using a c02 kit and a fluval filter...

gravel is ocean free gravel mix with smallish pebbles...

there is a small layer of base fert... sera brand?

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    Memnoch, i would suggest that for a start, you may surf the sticky "inspirational sites" in the "Aquascape" thread, to give yourself a feel of what layout you really like to have.

Cycling is process for building up a colony of nitrifying bacteria to convert harmful ammonia and nitrite to nitrate. For a bare tank and fish only set up, a cycling process may take 6 weeks, depending on the amount of ammonia added and oxygen.

On the other hand, for a planted tank, the cycling process may be shorten or short circuit. Consider this- plant itself takes in nutrient, including ammonia, nitrite and nitrate as a source nitrogen. What is left for the nitrifying bacteria you are cultivating? If the plant is thriving, your plant will be your best bio filter. So get more plants right from the start and it will save you lots of headache subsequently.