Aquatic Avenue Banner Tropica Shop Banner Fishy Business Banner

Thread: Hi

Feedback Score

Hi

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi to all of the "lao jiao" of tis forum. I am new to the planted tanks and i have some question in mind. As i am going to set up a 8ft by 3ft by 2ft planted tank for my new hse but i do not noe how to start and wat are the equipment to use. The tank is now seating in my hse looking veri empty. I have only bought dennerle's substrate and dupla laterite. How to put these thing into the tank. Is a substrate heater a must coz i am purchasing a Teco chiller from aquatechnics.

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore
    hello seal

welcome to the forum and congrats to you with your new tank...I am so jealous of the tank size you have

anyway just to bore you with the details, here goes

One thing i must say is that for a successful planted tank, the initial setup cost will tend to be high so you need to make a commitment (which you have already gone half the way) if you are in it for the long haul. Even with the right stuff, it does not guarantee that you will be successful....as experience comes into play.....so here goes.....

The Tank
    The tank you have bought is a very good dimension for any planted tank at 8x3x2ft. However careful planing is still the key to a beautiful tank and perhaps you may want to ask Jacian about it.

Base Fert
    Substrate base fert is the key or rather the foundation for any successful long term fertilisation. with this base, your planted tank has the ability to last from 5 to 10yrs. Since you have already bought a soil based fert, I would not elaborate on it. This level should be of 1in in height all round the tank...wich may equate to 50 to 60kg worth of fert(estimated).

Substrate Heater (Optional)
    The primary function of a substrate heater are: