Country
    Singapore

Crypts without CO2

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi AQ,

I have just aquired a 2x1.5x1.5 ft tank and was planning to have a non-CO2 concept running in there. Was planning to keep Crypts primarily and wonder if they will do well in a non-CO2 environment. I have some questions as this is my first try at non-CO2...

1. Also, how much lighting would be required? (32 Gal) My guess is 1x 55w enough?
    2. Since its low-medium lighting, means that I have space to actually use those overhead filters? Is it advisable?
    3. Read also in the Tom Barr post that soil is discouraged... does that include ADA AS?
    (Seems that Onyx Sand is unavailable in the market at the moment...)

Thanks,
    Jason
    "Live simply, simply live."
    4ft Tank: 4 Altums, 2 Bristle Noses, 2 Panda Garras
    2ft Tank 1: 1 Tetraodon Baileyi
    2ft Tank 2: 1 Monotrete Abei
    2ft Tank 3: 1 Tetraodon Cochinchinensis

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore
    1) 55w is enough. You can also get some anubias into those darker areas.
    2) Use a HOB filter rather than those hanging on top. Just remember to keep the water level high to prevent loads of splashing. (Non-CO2 doesn't mean no CO2...just ambient CO2. Less light means less uptake of CO2..sort of a balancing act.)
    3) ADA aquasoil is fine. Just make sure that you plant very very heavily. More plants means less algae due to less chance of NH4 causing problems.

Regards
    Peter Gwee
    Plant Physiology by Taiz and Zeiger

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    crypts without co2 and your level of lighting is ok. Just that I would go for as few and small water changes as possible. and absolutely NO additional fertilisation (you can use some base fert but it's not necessary). The plants will also take more time to settle down before they start growing, even up to a year. It's not for the impatient.

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country