Advertisements
Aquatic Avenue Banner Tropica Shop Banner Fishy Business Banner

Thread: Hey, hey, HeY. Jen from San Francisco.

Feedback Score
    Country
    United_States

Talking Hey, hey, HeY. Jen from San Francisco.

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi Y'all,

I found this fabulous site when I was researching planted tanks. I just graduated from Berkeley and I am now preparing for the MCAT (applying to medical school next June) while working as a mental health counselor. I am brand new to the hobby and have decided to start with a 29 gallon South American Blackwater Dwarf Cichlid community tank. My tank is now one month old.

I am using a Hydor canister filter, a Coralife light with double 6700K/65 watt bulbs and compressed CO2 (1 bps). I am keeping the temperature between 78-80 degrees. I am using ADA Amazonia in the planted areas (about 2/3 of the tank, on the left & right sides) and ADA Bright Sand in the front and towards the back (separating the two planted areas). I have three pieces of driftwood with Java Moss and two Java Ferns. The foreground is mostly moss covered rocks, the midground has several grasses, and there are two Amazon Swords and several stem plants in the background. The Sword is growing the best, and just last week I planted the first baby and there are two more on the way!

At this point, I'm struggling with pH, NO2 as well as adding fishes into my tank. I've a separate thread for these queries so please help if you can.

http://www.aquaticquotient.com/forum...448#post245448

Whew that was a lot!

Looking forward to hearing from everyone!

Jen
    Last edited by benny; 9th May 2007 at 10:18. Reason: Splitting post

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    Hi Jen,

Welcome to AQ!!

I've split out your queries into a separate thread so that you'll get a better response.