Images
    Country
    Singapore

Help with filter media for canister filter

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    hi guys. i have decided to get a dolphin c-500 canister filter for my upcoming project.
    but im unsure of what i should put in the tray as its my first time handling with canister filters.
    the tank will have cardinal fishes inside. bioload might be a little bit high too..
    lets say if the c-500 canister filter have 4 trays. what should i put?

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    Hi,

I am pretty sure C-500 will not have 4 trays. It will have at most 3 trays.
    I suggest you use the following layout.
    Tray 1 (the one which tank water will pass by first) Coarse filter medium, it should come in the box as a black piece of filter sponge, followed by finer filter wool.
    Tray 2 and 3, bio media.

Bio media is basically any thing which beneficial bacterial can colonize and live on, I would suggest using ceramic ring (cheaper) or biohome (expensive but reputed to be effective in providing more living space for beneficial bacterial). Don't waste the limited area in your canister filter by adding things like japanese mat, bio balls which frankly takes up quite a fair bit of space.
    - eric

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore
    Hi Bro, what media to put in which tray depends on how your canister works.. usually the water will flow from bottom to the top.. so your initial tray should be Bio rings, second tray you can have Bio balls and the last tray you can have sponge to filter out the dirt.. if you have the fourth tray, you can enjoy a thorough cleaning by putting another layer of sponge..

This will help you achieving clean water for your cardinal..

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    iam using Dolphin C-1000...

1st tray (Below) - black piece of filter sponge follow by white piece of Sponge