Images
    Country
    Singapore

Cherry shrimp tank mates

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Heya guys, i'm new to the keeping of shrimps, and just set up a cherry shrimp tank about 2 weeks ago.

The tank presently holds 12 adult cherry shrimp.

i had bought 3 tiny rasboras, supposedly Boraras brigittae, from polyart and put them in with the shrimp. However, after looking at photos from the internet the fish look more like Boraras merah to me. Several days after i saw the fish attack and try to eat a tiny tiny baby shrimp that was moving across the tank floor. I removed the rasboras, and after another few more days, there are several new baby shrimp swimming about again.

i was just wondering: how safe are the Boraras rasboras? so heartbreaking to see the baby shrimp get attacked and killed..

Are there any other fish safe to keep with baby cherry shrimp?

Are Oto cats and corydoras cats safe?

Any information from the experts here is much appreciated

Feedback Score
    Country
    United_States
    Otos are supposably plant-eaters. I haven't had a single problem with them eating my newborn fish. However I have found them snacking on the shrimp pellets that I put in the tank. Not sure on other fish... I'll check around, see what I can find...
    Breeding golden snakeskin guppies

Feedback Score
    Country
    United_States
    ah. the only thing I found on it was that otos make good tankmates, just be sure they aren't out-competing the shrimps for food. male endler livebearers and a few other fish were mentioned, but not for baby shrimps. The otos were the only thing I found that wouldn't eat the shrimplets.

On the cories I would be wary. I haven't had any shrimplets in my tank, so don't have a problem. However, they are like little vacuums and will suck up anything- especially large mosquito larvae. Since they will eat the mosquito larvae, I'm not very confident that they would leave the baby shrimps alone...