Images
    Country
    Singapore

Common mistakes made by beginners

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    It is quite a pain to see the common questions being raised in the forum repeatedly and see the same mistakes being made again and again by the beginners. The objective of this post is to help you jump start and avoid some common mistakes make by the novice.

To start off with, I am not an expert, at least not yet, and was a novice once too - but I can safely say I am no longer a rookie in planted tank. In driving parlance, I have a 2B license and legally can drive a family car, but not qualify to drive a F1 racing car or a bus. But that doesn’t mean I do not know the traffic rules.

All right, so much about the disclaimer and rant, let’s get started. The common mistakes are (if I can think of more and have more time, I may add):
    • Do not read enough
    • Plant sparsely at the beginning
    • Only sand or pea gravel is used as substrate
    • No cycling of tank
    • High tech is the only way?
    Do not read enough
    Most beginners rush to the local fish shop and splurge a good amount money on tank, filter, lights, flora, fauna, etc after mesmerizing by the display tank in front of the local fish shop or a beautify Amano’s planted tank picture on the internet. It is one thing to setup an Amano look alike tank by buying a few “ready made” blog wood with mosses, ADA stone, etc, and make a quick copy cat. But to maintain the same good look with healthy looking plants, algae free tank and happy fishes day in and day out is quite another story. Slowly, the Amana look alike tank breaks down, fishes die, plants turn yellow and tanks infested with algae. This is because basic knowledge on how to grow healthy plant, what is ammonia cycle, relationship between lights/CO2/nutrients uptake, and algae control is lacking.