Thread: Lighting

Feedback Score

Lighting

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi all

I'm a newbie to this aquarium/planted arena (<6 mths)
    My issue is with the lighting 'system' i have for my 2ft tank.

I notice fr the postings in this forum that some (in particular Simon) have suggested 2x20W or even 2x36W for a 2ft tank. For me whose tank has a cover/hood with room for only an 18" bulb, i dunno how i can accommodate a 20W or a 36W tube? Or is there actually a 18" 20W or 36W tube? Unless you are suggesting i remove the hood....which would be a shame coz it's nice wif the hood...

I want to incr the wattage of my tank lights, but i'm restricted by the hood dimensions. It's one of those tanks with a built-in overflow filter system (i think dat's wat its called). The brand of the tank is Nathura....

Any soul can enlighten me? TIA...

Nizz[]

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    Hi Nizz, I hardly give advices on lighting these days.. and yes, i do recommend a min of 2x20w for low to middle light plants or 2x36w for highlighted plants.. but do consider since u have a hood, heat building up inside yr tank, so u need to DIY a fan or something to help u ventilate yr tank

u can prolly DIY the lights on yr hood to accommdate more light tubes, r u local?.. wat is yr present lighting? if u r not able to DIY the lights, I suggest if u r a local to go Nature Aquarium and look for Chan, he can DIY them for u... and if u r those who luv to do it yourself then go to the equipment section, u shld find some interesting articles or advise to help u out

(ps. welcome to AQ, care to intro?)

Feedback Score
    Hi Simon

Firstly, thanks for the welcome. Yes, i'm local. Staying in Tampines area. Just started this hobby less than six mths, but doing it very seriously...hope to fit a 4ft into the TV room in the near future....the thot itself is oredi exciting...